The Emma

Well, I can think of nothing more inspiring right now than my dog.  That’s right, my dog.  The wildly confusing Kelpie I refer to as ‘The Emma’ is everything to me; my early morning alarm clock, my personal trainer, sometimes my headache, but always my smile.

‘The Emma’ is a rescue pup.  She was at a kill shelter for several weeks, but she was moved to a no-kill shelter just days before she was slated to take her final walk.  I don’t have much information about her except that she was horribly abused and neglected on a level that makes my heart break.  She weighed approximately 36 pounds, her face was covered with cuts and raw spots, her toes were covered with scabs, some of her teeth were broken, and every bone in her body showed through her dull, dry coat.  She was in pretty rough shape, and her size made her less desirable than the other dogs at the shelter.

I watched her lying in her kennel for a few minutes, her long slender legs stretched out in front of her and crossed under her chin,  before deciding that I wanted to meet her.  They brought her into the play room and I sat down on the floor and waited for her to approach me.  She didn’t wag her tail at first, she just walked around me with her head hung low and her tail tucked safely between her legs.  I talked to her quietly and waited patiently for her to make her move.  All of a sudden, she crawled onto my lap and laid her head on my shoulder.  Done.  ‘The Emma’ chose me.

Today,  ‘The Emma’ is a bright-eyed, shiny coated, 57 pound Kelpie mix.  She is strong-willed and very intelligent, a combination that often takes a firm resolve and tons of patience on my part.  She is a challenge, but I can think of no other pup I would want in my life right now.  I think she made a good choice.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

