Bad Habit?

I love you; three little words that are taken for granted almost every day by thousands of people around the world.  I love you; a sentiment saved for those individuals that invade our souls and make our hearts beat faster.  I love you; first words of the day and last words of the night, every night.  I love you; to the moon and back, to infinity and beyond, with all I am and ever will be.

Okay, so why do we say it so much?  What makes it such an important statement, and why do we cringe when we find ourselves unable to say it in return?  Do you mean it each time you say it; do you feel it in your guts, or is it just a habit people engage in to appease their partners?  I don’t have that answer for you; but I have the answer for me.  Each time I say it, I mean it; from my gut, from every cell, with all my energy.  I mean it, or I don’t say it.  Even more than meaning it, I have to feel it.  If I don’t feel it, if it isn’t an uncontrollable utterance, then why bother?  I want to be moved by my emotions, I want to feel it bubble up inside of me and explode like a geyser, and then I want to see her face when the words escape past my lips and linger on her ears.

Habits take time; about two full weeks to develop a true habit, whether it’s a good one or a bad one.  Habits sometimes have a way of ruining the heart and shading the feelings we have for others.  Bad habits have the ability to make us less appealing to others, both physically and emotionally.  Good habits do the exact opposite.  Rarely do we find ‘good habits’ that cause a hiccup in the love beat between two people, but I believe it’s possible to fall prey to the destruction of what some consider a ‘good habit’.

Have you ever told your partner “I love you” without really thinking about it?  Do you say it because they say it first or because it is expected at certain moments?  Do you say it simply to avoid conflict and make things calm?  Pump the brakes people.  What’s wrong with this picture?  Saying “I love you” should mean something; every time you say it.  It shouldn’t be your continued go-to when things get difficult or uncomfortable.  It shouldn’t be used to end an argument or coerce cooperation.  You should say “I love you” because you feel like your heart will burst out of your chest if you don’t tell her how you really feel.  You should say “I love you” when you’re feeling vulnerable and you don’t know if you will hear it returned.

When nothing else can express what is racing through your heart and soul; you should say “I love you”.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

